Loading...
Online

How to Delete Facebook

There might be a time when you feel social media, with all its omniscient presence in our daily lives, just gets a bit too much for you. Or perhaps you need to delete Facebook as it makes you procrastinate and waste time in a period where you need to be focused (think exam period!). Or you’re looking to get away from online trolls and bullies. Whatever your reason is, we’re here to help guide you how to delete Facebook.

You might have a good reason to delete Facebook even if you weren’t thinking about it- in a recent study, Facebook addicts felt like they were isolated and removed from their social circles when they deleted their accounts after a few days. It goes to show how much of an effect Facebook has become in such a short space of time.

There are two ways of deleting Facebook.

  1. Soft’ delete, or deactivating your account.
  2. 'Hard’ delete, which permanently wipes out all your data and you won’t be able to sign in unless you create a new account.

‘Soft deleting’ or deactivating your account

This is more suitable if you only want to delete Facebook temporarily, and want to return to using it after a period of time.

  1. Click the down arrow which is to the right of your Facebook page

facebook arrow screenshot for deleting facebook

  1. Select ‘Settings’ from the drop-down menu

facebook arrow screenshot for deleting settings

  1. Choose the ‘General’ option on the left hand side of the page

general screenshot deleting facebook

  1. Scroll to the bottom and select ‘Deactivate Account’, then enter your password when prompted.

facebook deactivate account screenshot

‘Hard’ deleting Facebook, or Requesting account deletion

This is more suitable for those who want to permanently delete Facebook. Once this has been done, you cannot go back and retrieve your account. Facebook suggests you make a copy of your information on there before requesting an account deletion.

  1. Click the down arrow which is to the right of your Facebook page

facebook arrow screenshot for deleting facebook

  1. Select ‘Settings’ from the drop-down menu

facebook arrow screenshot for deleting settings

  1. Choose the ‘General’ option on the left hand side of the page

general screenshot deleting facebook

  1. Scroll to the bottom and select ‘Request account deletion’, then enter your password when prompted.

facebook delete request account deletion screenshot

Once you’ve deleted your Facebook profile, it can take up to 90 days for the system to clear your information, statuses, photos and other data. During this time, other people will not be able to view your information.

However, information from messages you may have sent to friends will not be deleted. Therefore, you will need to personally request your friends to remove this information from shared areas on Facebook.

Related articles